News Headlines

Filing Underway for City, School Elections

We’ve been talking quite a bit about the March 4 Party Primary Election, there’s another election coming up May 10 for a number of school districts and cities in the area. Filing is underway through Friday, Feb. 28 for the General Election. Not all entities still observe the May election schedule, as some now wait until November. The City of Center and City of San Augustine, along with the Center and San Augustine ISDs, and Excelsior ISDs now wait till later in the year.


In the City of Timpson, the position of mayor, held by Debra Smith, and two council spots, those of Yvonne Ramsey and Ronnie Wolfe are up for election. So far, Ms. Smith, Ms. Ramsey and Wolfe have filed for re-election. Challenging Ms. Smith for mayor is current city councilman George Grace.


Two trustee positions on the Timpson ISD school board are up for election, those of Joyce Wolfe and Stephen Burgay.


In the City of Tenaha, Mayor Orinthia Johnson’s position is up for re-election, as is two council spots, those of Mark Hickson and Duran Steadman. So far, Tommy Rinkle has filed for a council position, and incumbent Johnson and Claudine Howard have made their intentions known for the mayor’s position.


At the Tenaha ISD, two trustee positions are up for election, those held by Mark Looney and Tracy Collins. As of yesterday, Collins had filed for re-election, with David Fallin and Vickie Jernigan also filing.


The City of Joaquin has three council spots up, those of Pat Gray, Bill Baker and Ben Brittain. So far, Gray and Baker have filed.


Over at Joaquin ISD, three trustee positions, those of Jeff Hamilton, Frank Cooper and John Paul Lawson are up. Filing has been Lawson, along with Rodney Harper, James Hamilton, Thomas Harvey and Pam Hearnsberger.


The Shelbyville ISD has two board positions expiring, those of Tiffanne Klein and Faye Dale Allen. So far, Ms. Allen has filed.


In the City of Huxley, the mayor, and two council positions are up for re-election. Mayor Larry Vaughn, and council members Prentice Hendricks and Larry Matthews have all filed for re-election.

Family Features

Loading Family Features Content Widget
Loading Family Features Article