News Headlines

Minutes of Recent Center ISD Meeting

Minutes of Called Meeting


The Board of Trustees

Center ISD




A Called Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Center ISD was held Saturday, June 29, 2013, beginning at 1:30 PM in the Whalen's Fine Dining at 130 Nacogdoches St. Center, TX 75935.




Call Meeting to Order and Establish a Quorum


Dr. Golden called the meeting to order at 1:35 p.m.


Present: Dixon Golden, Dan Wilkins, Sharon Nelson, Stephen Shires, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction Dr. Tammy Lemoine, Deputy Superintendent Rayford Copelin, and Superintendent James Hockenberry


Deborah Chadwick arrived at 1:45


Absent: Jim Sawyer and Ortega Cartwright


Visitors: FLM Assistant Principal Linda Snell, Director of Special Education Mickey Wulf, Director of Federal Programs Angela Lawson, Elementary Principal Rachel Miller, Middle School Principal Patti Tiller, Center High School Instructional Coach Kaylin Burleson, and Joseph Vincelli, Executive Director of TAO STREAMliners




Presentation from TAO STREAMliners Programming on Integrating Creative Arts into Science and Math


Joseph Vincelli, Executive Director of TAO STREAMliners presented and introduced concepts and curriculum that integrates creative arts into science and math. In doing so, Mr. Vincelli provided research that support integration of the arts with science and math.




District Employees and Officers



Resignations/Retirements of Personnel


A motion was made by Stephen Shires, seconded by Dan Wilkins to accept the resignations of the following personnel:


Pat Hill – Payroll Officer

Misty Nowicki – CHS Teacher

Krystal Martin – CMS Teacher

Lonnie Cook – CHS/CMS Choir Teacher

Robert Wilson – CMS Aide/Coach


The motion carried 4-0.



Employment of Personnel


A motion was made by Sharon Nelson, seconded by Stephen Shires to employ the following personnel:


Dana Ellis – CIS Special Education Resource/Inclusion Teacher

Laura Hancock – CIS Teacher

Roque Palomino – CHS Spanish Teacher/Head Boys Soccer Coach

Matthew Gregory – CMS Assistant Principal

Amy Sanford – CES Teacher

Misty Ray – District Police Officer

Kaci Lankford – CIS Teacher

Lillie Barnes – CMS Special Education Resource/Inclusion Teacher

Amanda Heron – CIS Fine Arts Teacher

Jenie Evans – CMS Social Studies Teacher

Cynthia Tillery – CMS Counselor


The motion carried 4-0.


4. Adjournment


A motion was made by Dan Wilkins, seconded by Sharon Nelson to adjourn the meeting at 3:05 p.m. The motion carried 5-0.