News Headlines

Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce announces annual award recipients


The Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce board of directors has named the 2017 Gary Justice Business Excellence award recipients, the Citizens of the Year and the Non-Profit of the Year.
"The chamber of commerce directors are thrilled to have an opportunity to honor these outstanding businesses and individuals, and now we are including a non-profit from our community," said Scarlett Sloane Long, chairman of the Board of Directors. "The recognition is well deserved as they each contribute to making Nacogdoches a great place to live. Congratulations to all of them for a job well done."
The 2017 award recipients are: 
SERVPRO® of Lufkin/S. Nacogdoches County is Small Business of the Year, award sponsored by Heritage Land Bank; 
Newk's Eatery #1057 is Medium Business of the Year, award sponsored by Regions Bank; 
NMC Health Network is Large Business of the Year, award sponsored by R&K Distributors, Inc.; 
Richard and Barbara DeWitt are the Citizens of the Year, award sponsored by Tipton Ford, Inc.; 
Nacogdoches Treatment Center is Non Profit of the Year, award sponsored by Charles Pool Real Estate, Inc.  
"There are many Nacogdoches County Chamber members that go above and beyond what is expected and what is necessary," said Betty Shinn, planning committee chairman. "The addition of the non-profit award expands the recognition of deserving community partners that make a big difference in the quality of life we enjoy."
All award honorees will be recognized and the 2017-2018 Chamber Board of Directors will be inducted at the 96th Annual Meeting & Membership Banquet on Tuesday, Sept. 26, at The Fredonia Hotel and Convention Center, the event's presenting sponsor.
"Holding the event at the Fredonia will make for a memorable Chamber banquet," Shinn said. "To capture the moments and add a special touch, the planning committee has secured a photographer who will take photos of all attendees as they arrive and at their tables."
The community may learn more about each award honoree through a series of feature stories that will run in The Daily Sentinel leading up to the annual meeting. At the event, videos produced by Terri Thompson Wade will be shown during the award presentations.
Table reservations are available. Businesses may have corporate recognition as a Gold sponsor for $2,000, a Silver sponsor for $1,000 or a Bronze sponsor for $750. Individual tickets admission tickets are available for $40. Seating is limited, and the reservation deadline is Sept. 15. For more information, contact the Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce at 936-560-5533 or send email messages to 
The Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors named the
Nacogdoches Treatment Center as the first recipient of the Non-Profit of
the Year award. Pictured from left are Chamber Chairman Scarlett Sloane
Long, the center's Executive Director Kathy Strong, and Chamber
President/CEO C. Wayne Mitchell.
(Photo by Kelly Daniel)

Roughriders Sports

Family Features

Loading Family Features Content Widget
Loading Family Features Article