News Headlines

Chamber Teacher Appreciation Reception


The Shelby County Chamber of Commerce Teacher Appreciation reception hosted by the Shelby County Chamber will be held on Wednesday, April 26 at the Windham Civic Center in Center at 4:00 p.m. The reception is held annually to salute and recognize the dedicated administrations and teaching staff of all the Shelby County school districts.  The Chamber of Commerce Education committee will present each school campus Teacher of the Year with a Certificate of Recognition and will announce the Shelby County Teacher of the Year for Elementary and Secondary schools.  This is a time when gratitude and appreciation is expressed to the educators throughout the county.  The Teacher of the Year from the Shelby County School Campuses are:
Center Christian Academy – Monica Caldas
F.L. Moffett Primary School – Michelle Covington-Richards
Center Elementary School – Kimberly Hearn
Center Intermediate School – Kathy Johnson
Center Middle School – Sharon Rice
Center High School – Adam Ramirez
Excelsior ISD – Mary May
Joaquin Elementary School – Casey Gamble
Joaquin Junior High School – Amanda Freeman
Joaquin High School – Lisa Barton
S.W. Carter Elementary – Rose Jones
Shelbyville Middle School – Anita Sheppard
Shelbyville High School – Nicole Tindol
Timpson Elementary – Cindy Bush
Timpson Middle School – James Foster
Timpson High School – Danielle Smith
Gold sponsors for the event are Farmers State Bank and Shelby Savings Bank. For more information please contact the Shelby County Chamber of Commerce at 936-598-3682 or visit us at