News Headlines

Minutes of Joaquin School Board Meeting January 16, 2017


1   The Joaquin ISD School Board met tonight in regular session at 6:00 p.m. in the Joaquin Boardroom with 
the following members present:  Chrisco Bragg, Tam Hearnsberger, Thomas Harvey, Ronnie Belrose, Bill Mason, Jr., Jeff Cater and Jimmy Hamilton. 
Board members absent: None
Guest(s) Present: Ebbie McCann, Student; Brooklinn Penning, Student; Khoen Baker, Student; Whitney Garrett, Student; Susan Watkins, Light Champion Newspaper
Joaquin ISD Employee(s) Present: Phil Worsham, Superintendent; Joel Bumback, Director of Finance; Kathy Carrington, 
Special Education Director; Terri Gray, Jr. High Principal; Jimmy Jackson, High School Principal; Bert Coan, 
Elementary Assistant Principal; Sherry Scruggs, Elementary Principal; Jennifer McCann, Administration Assistant; 
Donna Vergo, Human Resources
Mr. Chrisco Bragg, President, called the meeting to order at 6:01 p.m. 
2 The invocation was led by Chrisco Bragg, and the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States of America 
   by Bill Mason, Jr., and the Pledge of Allegiance to the Texas Flag was led by Tam Hearnsberger. 
3 Audience Participation – Those signed up and participating were: None
4 Report and Information items: 
4.1 Board Appreciation Month Presentation
4.2 Student Transfer Agreement
4.3 Announce Board Training Hours and Attendance
4.4 Review Monthly Financial Reports – Joel Bumback
4.5 Correspondence
5 Agenda Items for discussion, consideration, and possible action: 
5.1 It was moved by Tam Hearnsberger, and seconded by Ronnie Belrose, to approve the previous meetings   
       minutes.  Following discussion, a vote was taken on the motion. It carried unanimously. 
5.2 It was moved by Bill Mason, Jr., and seconded by Tam Hearnsberger, to approve District and Campus Goals and 
     Objectives for the 16/17 District/Campus Improvement Plans (attached).  Following discussion, a vote was taken 
     on the motion. It carried unanimously.
5.3 It was moved by Jeff Cater, and seconded by Bill Mason, Jr., to call for the School Board Election for May 6th for 
the following:  Three – three year terms presently held by Chrisco Bragg, Jimmy Hamilton and Tam Hearnsberger.  
Harold Irish will serve as the election judge and shall employ clerks as necessary.  The election will be held in the 
Joaquin ISD Boardroom and the Huxley Volunteer Fire Department.  Joel Bumback, Jennifer McCann, and 
Donna Vergo shall serve as early voting clerks to be conducted at the Administration office.  Following discussion, 
a vote was taken on the motion.  It carried unanimously.  
5.4 It was moved by Bill Mason, Jr., and seconded by Tam Hearnsberger , to approve the Board Resolution calling on 
     the Texas Legislature to repeal the rating system utilizing A through F grades for schools and districts and develop 
     a community-based accountability system that empowers school districts to design their own internal systems of 
     assessment and accountability that, while meeting general state standards, allows districts to innovate and 
     customize curriculum and instruction to meet the needs and interests of each student and their communities 
     (attached).  Following discussion, a vote was taken on the motion.  It carried unanimously
5.5 It was moved by Thomas Harvey, and seconded by Jeff Cater, to approve the Board Resolution to 
     consider designation as a District of Innovation.  Following discussion, a vote was taken on the motion.  The vote 
     was 6 for and 1 abstention (Tam Hearnsberger).  Motion carried.
6 The board entered closed session in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code Section at 
   7:30 p.m. on January 16, 2017. 
6.1  Enter closed session under Texas Government Codes §551.074, §551.127 (See Attached Code)
 6.1.1  Deliberate the evaluation of the Superintendent and his contract
7 The board entered open session in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act at 10:14 p.m. on January 16, 2017 and 
    took the following actions. 
7.1.1  It was moved by Tam Hearnsberger, and seconded by Jimmy Hamilton, at the completion and approval of Mr. Worsham’s evaluation, to continue Levis Phil Worsham’s contract for a total of two (2) years, beginning on July 1, 2017 and ending June 30, 2019 with an annual base salary to be considered at budget preparation for the 2017-2018 school year.  The Superintendent’s contract will go into more detail and is made a part this document and on the District web site.  Following discussion, a vote was taken on the motion.  It carried unanimously.
8 Chrisco Bragg, Board President, asked for items to be placed on the next board agenda. 
Review policy on grading – entering grades – Parent portal – timing
Survey of graduates
9 Designation of date and time of next meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Joaquin ISD 
February 20th, at 6:00 p.m. 
10 With no further business on the agenda the meeting was adjourn at 10:20 p.m. 


Roughriders Sports

Family Features

Loading Family Features Content Widget
Loading Family Features Article