News Headlines

Center ISD Board Meeting Minutes

Minutes of Regular Meeting
The Board of Trustees
Center ISD
A regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Center Independent School District (CISD) was held on Thursday, June 16, 2016 beginning at 6:00 p.m. at Center Independent School District Administration Board Room located at located at 107 Private Road 605Center, Texas  75935.
1. Call Meeting to Order and Establish a Quorum
James Greer called the meeting to order at 6:03 p.m. and declared a quorum.
Present: James Greer; John Henry Holloway; Daphne LaRock; Sharon Nelson (arrived at 6:04 p.m.); Traci Willoughby (arrived at 6:13 p.m.); Dan Wilkins; Rayford Copelin, Deputy Superintendent; Betty McDaniel, Director of Finance and James Hockenberry, Superintendent
Absent: Tammy Lemoine, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction
Visitors: Genera Bolton; Tina Byrnes, Southwest Foodservice Excellence; Jimmie Johnston, Southwest Foodservice Excellence
2. Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance
James Greer gave the invocation and Daphne LaRock led the Pledge of Allegiance.
3. Public Comments/Audience Participation
4. Budget Workshop
Dr. Hockenberry and Betty McDaniel presented the ground work for the 2016-2017 budget.   A more detailed draft of the 16-17 budget will be presented at the July 2016 regular meeting.
5. Consent Agenda
A motion was made by Dan Wilkins, seconded by Daphne LaRock to approve the consent agenda consisting of the minutes from the regular meeting on May 12, 2016, the May Investment Report (2015-2016), the Tax Collection Report (May 2016), the Financial Reports (May 2016) and the overnight student activity trip.
The motion carried 6-0.
6. Consideration and Approval of Revised Policies
A motion was made by Traci Willoughby, seconded by Daphne LaRock to approve the revised FFA (Local) – Wellness Policy and GKA (Local) – Non-school Use of School Facilities as presented. 
The motion carried 6-0.
7. 2015-2016 School Health Advisory Committee (SHAC) Report
The 2015-2016 SHAC report was submitted to the Board.
8. Consideration and Approval to Authorize Administration to Solicit Proposals for Transportation Fuel for 2016-2017 School Year
A motion was made by Sharon Nelson, seconded by Daphne LaRock to authorize Administration to solicit proposals for transportation fuel for 2016-2017 school year.
The motion carried 6-0. 
9. Consideration and Approval of 2016-2017 Broadcast Agreement
A motion was made by Sharon Nelson, seconded by Traci Willoughby to approve the 2016-2017 Broadcast Agreement. 
The motion carried 6-0.
10. Distribution and Discussion of HB 5 Community Engagement Results.
The results of the HB 5 Community Engagement were presented to the Board.  There is a series of meetings with parents and they discuss and then assign a rating for the eight factors (fine arts, wellness and physical education, community and parent involvement, 21st century workforce development, 2nd language, digital learning environment, dropout prevention strategies, educational programs for gifted and talented students).  The feedback was helpful and more participation was encouraged in the future.
11. Consideration and Approval of the 2016-2017 Concussion Oversight Team and Concussion Management Protocols
A motion was made by Sharon Nelson, seconded by Traci Willoughby to approve the 2016-2017 Concussion Management Team and protocols. 
The motion carried 6-0.
12. Closed Session
James Greer called for a closed session at 6:33 p.m. under Texas Government Code §551.071, §551.074 and §551.129 for consideration of employment of contracted personnel, terminate probationary contracts, contract renewals for Administrators, teachers and certified support staff, resignation/retirement, employee compensation and benefits and extended emergency sick leave.
13. Open Session
The Board returned into open session at 7:25 p.m.  No action was taken in closed session. 
13.1 District Employees and Officers:  Texas Government Code §551.071, §551.074 and §551.129
13.1.1 A motion was made by Sharon Nelson, seconded by Traci Willoughby to accept the employment report by Superintendent Hockenberry. 
The motion carried 6-0.
Catherine Blake, Teacher - Center Elementary School
Bethany Birdwell, Instructional Aide – Center Elementary School
Brenda Bressman, Teacher – Center Intermediate School
Ashley Cooper, Ag Science Teacher – Center High School
Kimberly Harvey, Teacher – Center Intermediate School
Joan Jenkins, Teacher – Center Middle School
Robbie Low, Teacher – Center High School
Anthony Marshall, Teacher – Center Middle School
Jennifer Matthews, Teacher – Center Intermediate School
Marina McLerran, Assistant Band Director – Center Middle School
Cesia Salvador Perez, ESL/Bilingual Aide – Center Intermediate School
Dorothy Pletcher, ELAR Teacher – Center Middle School
Abbey Schultz, Teacher – Center Elementary School
Kyle Stewart, Teacher/Coach – Center High School
Jeremy Wallace, Director – AEP
Wendie Wooten, Teacher – Center Elementary School
13.1.2 A motion was made by Traci Willoughby, seconded by Daphne LaRock to accept the resignations/retirements as recommended by Superintendent Hockenberry. 
The motion carried 6-0.
Tracy Bolton, CIS Teacher – resignation
Kellan Carrell, CMS Teacher/Coach – resignation
Pamela Cleaver, CES Instructional Aide – Resignation
Jody Franks, CIS Teacher – Resignation
Traci Galindo, CMS Teacher – Resignation
Brittany Hall, CHS Teacher – Resignation
Terena Hentry, CIS Computer Lab Aide – Resignation
Lyndy McDonald, CIS Teacher – Resignation
Mary Motley, CIS Teacher – Resignation
Perla Mendoza Orona, CIS Bilingual Aide – Resignation
Deanna Owen, CIS Teacher – Resignation
Cal Parker, CMS Teacher – Resignation
SeKourtney Ratcliff, CIS Teacher – Resignation
Judith Schumtz, CMS Instructional Aide – Resignation
Tabitha Stone, CMS Teacher – Resignation
Sarah Yarbrough, CIS Teacher – Resignation
Margo Williams, CHS Registered Nurse – retirement
13.1.3 There were no extended emergency sick leaves to be considered by the Board. 
13.1.4 A motion was made by John Henry Holloway to approve the 2016-2017 school year compensation and benefits as recommended and discussed by the Superintendent, seconded by Daphne LaRock. 
The motion carried 6-0.
14. Adjournment
A motion was made by Dan Wilkins, seconded by Traci Willoughby to adjourn the meeting at 7:27 p.m.
The motion carried 6-0.
_______________________________ ________________________________
Board of Trustees Secretary Board of Trustees President