News Headlines

Minutes of Special School Board Meeting

Minutes of Special School Board Meeting
May 12, 2016
The Joaquin ISD School Board met in special session at noon in the Joaquin Boardroom with the following members present: Tam Hearnsberger and Thomas Harvey
Members absent: Chrisco Bragg, Ronnie Belrose, Jimmy Hamilton 
Guest(s) Present: Harold Irish
School Employee(s) Present:  Phil Worsham, Superintendent
1 Tam Hearnsberger, Vice President, called the meeting to order at 12:00 noon.
2  Tam Hearnsberger, Vice President called for the canvassing of the Board election held on May 7, 2016.  
(Election Code 67.003, 67004(a), Board Policy BBB (Legal))
Mr. Harold Irish, Joaquin ISD Election Judge, was asked to conduct the canvassing of the votes from the May 7th school board election.  He gave the following report.
Total votes cased at Huxley -- – Joaquin -- – Early -- – Total ---
                                                         Early         Joaquin        Huxley          Total
Bill Mason received                     84 105 38 227
Jay Dee Cockrell received 56 62 8 126
Susan Savitsky McCann received 12 8 0 20
Jeff Cater received   42 85 30 157
The top two were Bill Mason and Jeff Cater.  They shall serve three-year term expiring in May of 2019.
Total votes cast:
Early (includes mail & provisional) 103
Joaquin 142
Huxley  38
Total 283
Motion by Thomas Harvey, and seconded by Tam Hearnsberger, to accept the report presented by Mr. Harold Irish, Election Judge on canvassed votes and declare the results to be official.  Following discussion, a vote was taken on the motion.  It carried unanimously.
Swearing in of new board members will be conducted prior to the next board meeting.
3  With no further business on the agenda the meeting was adjourn. 

Roughriders Sports

Family Features

Loading Family Features Content Widget
Loading Family Features Article