News Headlines

*Panola College honors 58 Phi Theta Kappa inductees*

*Panola College honors 58 Phi Theta Kappa inductees*
Panola College recognized 58 students who were inducted into the Pi Beta
Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa National Honor Society in a ceremony at 5:30
p.m., Thursday, April 21. The ceremony was held in the Frances B. Ross
Ballroom of the Charles C. Matthews Foundation Student Center.
The Panola Pipers, led by Sandra Bauer, choir director, entertained the
audience with two selections. Amy Denton Calhoun, chemistry professor and a
Pi Beta Alumna, was the guest speaker.
Students who qualified for PTK in Fall 2015 include Kaycie Chapman Gros,
Carthage; James Davis, Carthage; Janice Fincher, Gary; Rogelio Gonzalez,
Henderson; Coby Hammons, Carthage; Stephen Heath, Marshall; Chakera
Holcomb, DeBerry; Jessica Horton, Sulphur Springs; David Johnson, Carthage;
Matthew LeTourneau, Beckville; Elena Olvera, Longview; Melanie Pinkston,
Longview; Kyle Walker, Gary; Amber Weatherford, Carthage; Tyra Williams,
Henderson, and Chantel Woodard, Cibolo.
Students who qualified for PTK in Spring 2016 are Shelby Allen, Carthage;
Jarid Barton, Timpson; Thomas Bierman, Center; Jonathan Kyle Bryan,
DeBerry; Reiley Cohorst, Beckville; Jayme Cole, Marshall; Lewis Dales,
Shelbyville; Leticia De La Torre, Garrison; Nancy Dominguez-Aldaba,
Carthage; Shelby Dorchester, Marshall; Joshua Edge, Garrison; Cassie
Elizondo, Beckville; Miguel Garcia, Center; Osiel Garcia, Center; Kastley
Greer, Longview; Oscar Guerrero-Rodriguez, Carthage; Morgan Hamilton,
Beckville; Pierce Hollister, Texas City; Chelsea Johnson, Marshall; Vivian
Lugo, Marshall; J'Lene Martinez, Virgin Islands; Morgan Matthews, Joaquin;
Monica Montoya, Timpson, and Martha Moreno, Marshall.
Others qualifying in the spring semester include Desiree Nitzschke,
Carthage; Jennifer Olvera, Marshall; Joel Pallares, Center; Tyler Powell,
Silsbee; Daniel Quetzala, Garrison; Christopher Ramirez, Beckville; Joel
Rathbun, Carthage; Vanessa Renteria, Center; Dalton Ridgeway, Henderson;
Nancy Robbins, Bivins; Keandra Roquemore, Henderson; Holly Royer, Timpson;
Sharnice Rusk, Marshall; McCartney Satterwhite, Jacksonville; Sara Sellers,
Marshall; Tonya Smith, Waskom; Jessica Thompson, San Augustine, and Elida
Villarreal, Carthage.
Pi Beta Chapter sponsors are Tonya Fotinos and Emily Zabcik. Fotinos is
Department Chair of Mathematics and Science, and a biology professor at
Panola College. Zabcik is a mathematics professor at Panola College.

Roughriders Sports

Family Features

Loading Family Features Content Widget
Loading Family Features Article