News Headlines

2015 4-H Annual County Gold Star Banquet

Date:  September 28, 2015

News Release

Submitted by: Lane Dunn & Jheri-Lynn McSwain

Subject:  Annual 2014-2015 4-H Goldstar Banquet


4-H members, family and guests met on Sunday, September 20, 2015, at the Center Community House-Rock Building in Center, Texas for their annual County 4-H Gold Star Banquet.  The Joaquin 4-H Club served as wonderful hosts and decorated beautifully for this event. 


Master of ceremony for the event was Clarissa Menefee. The invocation was led by Kadence Polley and she also introduced the special guests who were Mr. Maxi Eaves - Justice of the Peace Precinct 1, Mr. & Mrs. Doyle Carter, members of the TEEA XYZ Homemaker’s Club, Ms. Whitney Burgay and Ms. Ana Solis with Shelby Savings Bank, Ms. Susan Watkins with the Light & Champion Newspaper and Mrs. Peaches Conway, previous Gold Star winner and former Shelby County Clerk.


Following the meal, Alec Dykes led the Pledge of Allegiance and the Pledge to the Texas flag. Emilee Elliott led audience in the 4-H Motto and Pledge.


Caroline Scull presented the “I Dare You” awards to Logan Holloway of Center 4-H Club, son of John Henry and Chelsea Holloway, and Collin Vickers of Joaquin 4-H Club, son of Mike Vickers and Tara Permenter.  These two young people have shown leadership and a willingness to always help in time of need.  They are both very active in the 4-H program participating in numerous projects and community service activities.


Jheri-Lynn McSwain presented the Gold Star Award to Megan Dunn of Center 4-H, daughter of Lane and Katie Dunn.  The Gold Star Award is the highest county 4-H achievement award.  Megan has exhibited leadership skills by serving as a club officer, attending leadership camp, serving as a youth volunteer, and becoming a Livestock Ambassador while being active participant in county and club 4-H projects.  Megan has demonstrated a willingness to serve not only in the 4-H program but in her community as well.  Mrs. McSwain thanked her for her service to the 4-H program and never saying “No” when duty calls.


The Friend of 4-H Award was presented by Carsen Vickers to members of the TEEA XYZ Homemaker’s Club.  This award is given to member or organization of the community that has shown long term support and dedication to the 4-H program. This year’s recipient has supported the Shelby County youth for many years. Their support has sometimes been behind the scenes but has not gone unnoticed or unappreciated. The education of our youth and adults is Texas A&M AgriLife Extension’s mission and with the help and timeliness of this organization these goals can be achieved.


Club member introductions were presented by club mangers.  Clarissa Menefee offered a special appreciation to local businesses, organizations and volunteers who contribute to the success of the Shelby County 4-H program.


County Extension Agents Lane Dunn and Jheri-Lynn McSwain recognized and thanked club managers Chelsea Holloway – Center 4-H, Tiffanne Klein – Shelbyville 4-H, and Debrah Worsham – Joaquin 4-H.  They also recognized and thanked all the project leaders for their continued support of the Shelby County 4-H Program.


The final thank you went to the 4-H parents for their dedication to the organization, the City of Center for allowing the 4-H program to utilize their facilities, and Tara Permenter and Joaquin 4-H Club for hostessing.  Hannah Menefee closed the banquet with the 4-H prayer.

Roughriders Sports

Family Features

Loading Family Features Content Widget
Loading Family Features Article