News Headlines

Early voting continues for May 9 school board & city council elections. (Locations, times, candidates)

Early voting for the May 9 general elections is underway and continues through May 5. Elections are being held for the Joaquin, Tenaha, Timpson, Shelbyville and Garrison school districts, and in the Cities of Joaquin, Tenaha, Timpson and Garrison. Center Broadcasting has posted early voting locations, times and a list of each race’s candidates on our website at Just look on the homepage.


Early Voting Locations & Times for the May 9 General Elections


Voting days are Monday through Friday.


Joaquin ISD-2 trustees

Administration building

8 a.m. to 4 p.m.


City of Joaquin-mayor and 2 at-large council members.

City hall

8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Extended hours (April 29 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.)


Tenaha ISD-3 trustees

Administration building

7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.


City of Tenaha-3 council members

Municipal building

6 a.m. to 6 p.m.


Timpson ISD-3 trustees

Administration building

8 a.m. to 4 p.m.


City of Timpson-3 council members

City hall

8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Extended hours (May 5 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.)


Shelbyville ISD-2 trustees

Administration building

7:45 a.m. to 3:45 p.m.


Garrison ISD-2 trustees & a special election to fill an unexpired two-year term.

High school foyer

8 a.m. to 5 p.m. in the high school foyer.


City of Garrison-2 council members

City office

8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Extended hours ( May 5 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.)


Remember, you must have a photo ID in order to vote.



May 9 School and City Elections


In the Joaquin ISD Trustee election there are four vying for two positions, including incumbent Ronnie Belrose, and challengers Thomas Harvey, Jay Wilson and Maggie Bowden.


For the City of Joaquin, the council race has three running for two spots, they are incumbent council members LeeVern Stotts Gilliam and Mike Atkinson, and challenger Joe Long.


Two current Joaquin Council members are running for mayor, Bill Baker and Pat Gray.


The Tenaha ISD board race has five filing for three spots, with two of the three incumbents seeking re-election. They include Bo Morris and Robert Barton. Challengers include Joe Anderson, David Fallin and Korey McClure.


In the City of Tenaha Council race four are running for three available spots. They include all three incumbents, Larry Terry, Claudine Howard and Michael Baker, and challenger Natalie Harris.


For the Timpson ISD board, four are running for three position Dannie Hunt (incumbent), Carlos Johnson, Linda Frazier Todd and Jim Rader.


Timpson City Council there are five vying for three positions. All three incumbents, Kyle Allen, Janell Baker and George Grace are seeking re-election with a challenge from Kenny Walker and Linda Hancock.


The largest ticket is the Shelbyville ISD board of trustees where six are running for two positions. Incumbents Joe Tom Schillings and Etola Jones are challenged by Chris Koltonski, Brad Hinton, Latashia Thompson and Clint Norton.


The Garrison ISD has two regular trustee positions to fill with Bart Reneau, Wes Chandler and Matt Barrett running.


Also, Garrison ISD is filling a two-year unexpired term with Bradley Davis and Lane Barton running to fill the term left vacant by the death of Perry Honea.


Garrison City Council has two council seats to fill with Nichole Todd, Hope Hallmark and Samantha Douglas VanPelt running.

Roughriders Sports

Family Features

Loading Family Features Content Widget
Loading Family Features Article