News Headlines

Early voting begins Monday for May 9 city & school board elections, times,locations & races listed

Early voting for the May 9 general elections begins Monday, April 27 and will continue until Tuesday, May 5.


Early voting for the Joaquin ISD Trustee Election takes place at the administration building from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. as voters are electing 2 members.


The City of Joaquin is electing a mayor and two at-large city council members. Early voting is at city hall from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., with extended early voting on April 28 & 29 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.


Tenaha ISD voters are electing three trustees with early voting from 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. at the administration office.


The City of Tenaha is electing three council members with early voting at the Tenaha Municipal Building from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.


The Timpson ISD is electing three trustees with early voting from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. daily at the administration building.


City of Timpson is electing three council members with early voting from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at city hall. Extended early voting in the City of Timpson is April 28 & May 5 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.


The Shelbyville ISD is electing two trustees for full three-year terms. Early voting will be at the administration building from 7:45 a.m. to 3:45 p.m.


In the Garrison ISD, two positions are to be elected in the regular election, while a special election is being held to fill an un-expired two-year term. Early voting is from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. in the high school foyer.


As for the City of Garrison, citizens are electing two council members. Early voting extended dates are April 27 and May 5 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., with regular hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. April 28 thru May 4, with early voting at Garrison City Office.


Remember, you must have a photo ID in order to vote.




In the Joaquin ISD Trustee election there are four vying for two positions, including incumbent Ronnie Belrose, and challengers Thomas Harvey, Jay Wilson and Maggie Bowden.


For the City of Joaquin, the council race has three running for two spots, they are incumbent council members LeeVern Stotts Gilliam and Mike Atkinson, and challenger Joe Long.


Two current Joaquin Council members are running for mayor, Bill Baker and Pat Gray.


The Tenaha ISD board race has five filing for three spots, with two of the three incumbents seeking re-election. They include Bo Morris and Robert Barton. Challengers include Joe Anderson, David Fallin and Korey McClure.


In the City of Tenaha Council race four are running for three available spots. They include all three incumbents, Larry Terry, Claudine Howard and Michael Baker, and challenger Natalie Harris.


For the Timpson ISD board, four are running for three position Dannie Hunt (incumbent), Carlos Johnson, Linda Frazier Todd and Jim Rader.


Timpson City Council there are five vying for three positions. All three incumbents, Kyle Allen, Janell Baker and George Grace are seeking re-election with a challenge from Kenny Walker and Linda Hancock.


The largest ticket is the Shelbyville ISD board of trustees where six are running for two positions. Both incumbents Joe Tom Schillings and Etola Jones are challenged by Chris Koltonski, Brad Hinton, Latashia Thompson and Clint Norton.


The Garrison ISD has two regular trustee positions to fill with Bart Reneau, Wes Chandler and Matt Barrett running.


Also, Garrison ISD is filling a two-year unexpired term with Bradley Davis and Lane Barton running to fill the term left vacant by the death of Perry Honea.


Garrison City Council has two council seats to fill with Nichole Todd, Hope Hallmark and Samantha Douglas VanPelt running.


Roughriders Sports

Family Features

Loading Family Features Content Widget
Loading Family Features Article