News Headlines

Filings pick up for May 9 city, school board elections

After a two-week filing period, there’s been some change in candidate making their intentions known for the May 9 city and school board elections.


With a filing deadline of Feb. 27, potential candidates have 2-weeks left to return the proper paperwork.


In the Joaquin ISD, Thomas Harvey has been the lone filer, as positions held by Luke Garrett and Ronnie Belrose will be expiring.


For the City of Joaquin, incumbent council members LeeVern Stotts Gilliam and Mike Atkinson have both filed to run again.


We told you last week that Mayor Mike Wood would not be seeking re-election. Two current council members have filed to run for that vacated position as Joaquin mayor. Council members Bill Baker and Pat Gray will be running.


There have been no filings for the Tenaha ISD board as the position held by Bo Morris, Robert Barton and June Swint are up.


In the City of Tenaha Council race, Larry Terry has filed for re-election. Claudine Howard and Michael Baker’s spots on the council are also expiring.


No filings for the Timpson ISD board as Tracy Hooper, Dannie Hunt and Beth Tipton’s seats are up.


At the Timpson City Council, all three incumbents have filed, including Kyle Allen, Janell Baker and George Grace. They’ll be challenged by Kenny Walker and Linda Hancock.


In the Shelbyville ISD board of trustees, incumbents Joe Tom Schillings and Etola Jones have re-filed, so has challenger Chris Koltonski.


If you’re interested in a position you can file at the respective school administration or city office till Feb. 27.


Roughriders Sports

Family Features

Loading Family Features Content Widget
Loading Family Features Article