News Headlines

Local Sports Round up 11/10/14; locals take part in State Cross Country Meet, football teams headed to football playoffs


At the UIL State Cross Country Meet held Saturday in Round Rock, Shelbyville Lady Dragon freshmen Kenna Osby had a 12th place finish in the girls’ 2A division out of 149 participants. Along with her teammates, the Lady Dragons came out in 13th place in the state. Center Roughrider juniors Giovani Angel and Arnol Escobedo were in the 4A boys’ part of the meet and Angel came out in 74th, with Escobedo in 84th place out of 151 individuals. Meanwhile, Tenaha Tiger sophomore Carlos Bustamante was 52nd in a field of 151 in the boys’ 2A meet. In addition, San Augustine Wolf junior Mark Moreno as 85th in the same event. Martinsville had seven participants in the 2A event and as a team the Pirates came out in 14th place. Here’s how the other six members of the Shelbyville Lady Dragon Cross Country Team finished at Saturday’s state meet: Catasia Walker-82nd; Daisy Cartwright-92nd; Jakyra Ross-125th; Ali Baty-144th; Cayla Risinger-145th; and Brittnie Risinger-147th.


It was the regular season final game for high school football last Friday, and the Center Roughriders wrapped up their season losing to district champion Gladewater, 56-8. The Riders go winless in district and 2-7 for the season. Dist. 6 4A, Div. II ends in this order, Gladewater, Atlanta, Tatum & Pleasant Grove.


The Dist. 6 4A, Div. II Playoff schedule:


Gladewater vs. Nevada Community 7 p.m. Thursday in Mt. Pleasant


Atlanta vs. Melissa 7:30 p.m. Friday in Paris


Tatum vs. Bullard 5:30 p.m. Saturday at Pine Tree


Pleasant Grove vs. Gilmer 7:30 p.m. Friday in Hallsville


The Shelbyville Dragons could not come away with the outright district championship as they are upended on the road, 34-6 by West Sabine. Shelbyville and West Sabine share the title, with West Sabine going into the playoffs as the first-place team receiving a first-round bye, followed by the Dragons, and the San Augustine Wolves, who got in by beating Cushing, 60-8, and having the Joaquin Rams lose to Beckville, 28-24.


Here’s the Dist. 10-2A, Div. I playoff schedule:


Shelbyville (8-1) will play Ore City (8-2) at 7:30 p.m. Friday in New London at West Rusk High School’s Bradshaw Stadium.


San Augustine (5-5) takes on Harleton (8-2) at 7:30 p.m. Thursday at Carthage Bulldog Stadium.


Center Broadcasting will air both the Shelbyville and the San Augustine playoff games this week. We’ll have the San Augustine-Harleton game on 92.5 KXXE Thursday night; and the Shelbyville-Ore City game on Q-100 KQBB Friday night as Don Wall will be calling the action for both. You can also hear the games via our website at or download the free Tune-in Radio app for your I-phone or Android device.


The Tenaha Tigers have clinched another outright district championship and a first round bye in the playoffs with a 55-26 win over Mt. Enterprise Friday night. The Tigers will play the winner of the Cumby-Hubbard bi-district game in the area round next week. Meanwhile, the Timpson Bears will be the second place playoff representative in Dist. 11-2A, Div. II as they beat Fruitvale, 54-6; and Overton takes third with a 30-28 win over Maud.


Here’s the Dist. 11-2A, Div. II playoff schedule:


Timpson (4-5) vs. Evadale (7-3) at 7:30 p.m. Friday in Hemphill. Ticket prices are $5 adults and $3 students and Timpson is the home team.


Overton (4-6) vs. Normangee (6-4) at 7 p.m. Friday in Whitehouse


The (4-5) Garrison Bulldogs lose to Corrigan, 58-28, but were able to grab a playoff spot, as they take fourth-place in Dist. 11-3A, Div. II and will meet (8-1) Franklin at 7 p.m. Thursday in Palestine.


Other area teams in the state football playoffs:


Carthage (5-5) vs. Little Cypress-Mauriceville (5-5) Saturday 7:00pm Martin Stadium, Lufkin


Henderson (8-2) vs. Silsbee (4-6) Friday 7:00pm Martin Stadium, Lufkin


Jasper (7-3) vs. Kilgore (4-6) Thursday 7:00pm Martin Stadium, Lufkin


Nacogdoches (7-3) vs. Marshall (6-4) Friday 7:30pm Pine Tree Pirate Stadium, Longview


Longview (8-2) vs. Lufkin (6-4) Friday 7:30pm Rose Stadium, Tyler


Center Roughrider Stadium will be the site of a Class 3A, Div. II first-round playoff game Friday as Kirbyville plays Elkhart at 7:30 p.m.


The Logansport Tigers beat Montgomery last Friday, 50-25, and enter the Louisiana state football playoffs Friday night as they hosts a first-round game against East Iberville.


The SFA Lumbjacks defeat nationally-ranked McNeese State on the road in Lake Charles Saturday, 31-16.


The girls' high school basketball season will tip-off Tuesday. The Shelbyville Lady Dragons will open up at Burkeville at 5:30 p.m.; the Timpson Lady Bears head to All-Saints in Tyler for a 6 p.m. start; the Joaquin Rams get underway at home with a 5 p.m. tip-off tomorrow against the San Augustine Lady Wolves; and the Tenaha Lady Tigers will be at the Garrison Lady Bulldogs in a 5:30 p.m. start Tuesday.


Have you heard about the record buck taken the opening day of deer season Nov. 1? Chance Parmer of Chireno harvested a 17-pointer shortly before dark in eastern Nacogdoches County in the Blackjack Community. The rack had been officially scored for Texas Big Game Awards at 198 3/8 gross, 191 4/8 net. It is the highest scoring whitetail ever taken on open range in Nacogdoches County.


High School Football Standings

Dist. 6-4A Div. II

                              Dist.   All

xy-Gladewater       5-0     9-1

x-Atlanta                4-1     9-1

x-Tatum                 3-2     5-5

x-Tx. Pleas Grove   2-3     6-4

Spring Hill               1-4     2-8

Center                   0-5     2-7


x-clinched playoffs

y-District Champ

Top 4 teams advance


Nov. 7

Gladewater 56 Center 8

Atlanta 40 Spring Hill 22

Pleasant Grove 7 Tatum 31



Dist. 10-2A Div. I

                             Dist.  All

xz-West Sabine    4-1    8-2

xz-Shelbyville     4-1    8-1

x-San Augustine  3-2   5-5

Joaquin                2-3   5-4

Beckville                2-3   5-4

Cushing                0-5   4-6


x-clinched playoffs

z-District Co-Champs

Top 3 teams advance


Nov. 7

Shelbyville 6 West Sabine 34

Cushing 8  San Augustine 60

Beckville 28  Joaquin 24


Dist. 11-2A Div. II

                      Dist.   All

xy-Tenaha    5-0    8-1

x-Timpson    4-1    4-5

x-Overton      3-2     5-5

Maud             2-3     4-6

Mt. Enter       1-4     4-6

Fruitvale        0-5    0-10


x-clinched playoffs

y-District Champion

Top 3 teams advance


Nov. 7

Tenaha 55 Mount Enterprise 26

Fruitvale 6 Timpson 54

Maud 28 Overton 30









Roughriders Sports

Family Features

Loading Family Features Content Widget
Loading Family Features Article