News Headlines

Center ISD Board to have four new members, Johnson retains judges' seat in San Augustine, Mitchell re-elected, surprise in JP 5 race

Center ISD voters have made their voice known for a change as all four incumbent trustees were voted off the board during Tuesday’s election. James Greer, John Henry Holloway, Traci Willoughby and Daphne LaRock defeated the four sitting members of the CISD board rather handily.


The four challengers ran on the platform, ”New leadership with one common goal.” Greer led the ticket with 1,588 votes, Holloway had 1,449, Ms. Willoughy picked up 1,360 and Ms. LaRock pulled in 1,196 votes.


As for the incumbents, Dr. Dixon Golden had 1,009 votes, Jim Sawyer with 826, Deborah Chadwick with 773, and Ortega Cartwright had 725 votes.


Elsewhere, San Augustine County Judge Samye Johnson has won re-election to a second term as she defeats challenger Randy Williams by less than 100 votes, 1,449 to 1,357. The Pct. 4 beer & wine election also passed in San Augustine County, 474 to 257.


In the 273rd District Judge’s race, incumbent Charles Mitchell is re-elected, taking 57% of the vote. Mitchell out-polled challenger Louie Des Champs in Shelby and San Augustine County, but lost in Sabine County, with Des Champs taking 52%. Mitchell won Shelby County with 55%, and 69% in San Augustine County.


Shelby County Commissioner Jimmy Lout will go back in for a fourth term as he defeats challenger Tim Runnels, 945 to 469; in the Justice of the Peace Pct. 1 election, incumbent Maxie Eaves withstands the challenge from Melissa Crouch, winning by 23 votes, 1,378 to 1,355.


Ms. Crouch’s brother Mike, on the other hand, surprised incumbent JP Pct. 5 Jim Powers, as the Republican challenger came away with a 416 to 373 vote win.


In addition, there will be a new JP in Pct. 2 as Marla Denby wins over Jerry Powell, 710 to 234, as incumbent Burt Furlow will be retiring the first of the year.


In the City of Center City Council Position 2 election, incumbent Jerry Lathan is elected to a full-term, defeating Jud Matthews, 123-64.

Roughriders Sports

Family Features

Loading Family Features Content Widget
Loading Family Features Article