News Headlines

Early voting numbers show interest in Shelby County Nov. 4 elections; local races listed

Tomorrow is General Election Day, and voting precincts will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. as voters will be casting their ballots on statewide and local elections. Two weeks of early voting concluded last Friday with a reported good turnout in a non-presidential election.


In Shelby County, County Clerk Alison Harbison reports 2,065 voted early in the General Election; 1,287 in the Center ISD Trustee election; and 62 in the City of Center Council Position 2 race. Ms. Harbison also reports 450 mail ballots were sent out for the General Election; 45 for the Center School Board race; and 17 in the City of Center election.


Meanwhile, in San Augustine County, Election Administrator Deborah Woods tells us 1,259 voted early, which includes all elections.


Remember, you must have a valid photo ID in order to vote.


Center Broadcasting has posted the voting locations for Tuesday’s election in both Shelby and San Augustine Counties on the front page of our website,


We'll join with the Texas State Network to give election coverage starting at 7 p.m. Tuesday evening on KDET and online at Remember, you can download the free Tune-in radio app and listen on your I-Phone or Android device. You can also follow election returns from both Shelby and San Augustine County on the Center Broadcasting Facebook page, as we’ll be posting results there during the evening Tuesday.


Here's a rundown of the Shelby County challenged races:


They include 273rd District Judge, Democrat incumbent Charles R. Mitchell is challenged by Republican Louie Des Champs.


In the County Commissioner Pct. 2 race, Republican Tim Runnels and Democrat incumbent Jimmy Lout; for Justice of the Peace Pct. 1, Republican Melissa Crouch and Democrat incumbent Maxie Eaves; JP Pct. 2, Republican Marla Denby and Democrat Jerry Powell; and for JP Pct. 5, Republican Mike Crouch and Democrat incumbent Jim Powers. There is also a write-in candidate for JP Pct. 5, Lee McIntyre.


In the Center ISD Board of Trustee’s election, four incumbents are up for re-election, they are Dr. Dixon Golden, Ortega Cartwright, Jim Sawyer and Deborah Chadwick, and they're challenged by James Greer, Daphne LaRock, Traci Willoughby and John Henry Holloway.


The City of Center has one council race contested, District 2 as incumbent Jerry Lathan is challenged by Jud Matthews.

Roughriders Sports

Family Features

Loading Family Features Content Widget
Loading Family Features Article