News Headlines

Today is the final day to vote early for Nov. 4 elections

Early voting for the Nov. 4 General Election, as well as Center ISD Trustee and City of Center Council Position 2 election comes to an end today. In Shelby County, you can vote early from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. for any of the elections at County Clerk Allison Harbison's office on the Center square.


There are a number of state-wide elections, in addition to district-wide races you're asked to vote on. As for the challenged local races on the ballot, they include 273rd District Judge, Democrat incumbent Charles R. Mitchell is challenged by Republican Louie Des Champs. In the County Commissioner Pct. 2 race, Republican Tim Runnels and Democrat incumbent Jimmy Lout; for Justice of the Peace Pct. 1, Republican Melissa Crouch and Democrat incumbent Maxie Eaves; JP Pct. 2, Republican Marla Denby and Democrat Jerry Powell; and for JP Pct. 5, Republican Mike Crouch and Democrat incumbent Jim Powers. There is also a write-in candidate for JP Pct. 5, Lee McIntyre. In the Center ISD Board of Trustee election, four incumbents are up for re-election, they are Dr. Dixon Golden, Ortega Cartwright, Jim Sawyer and Deborah Chadwick, and they're challenged by James Greer, Daphne LaRock, Traci Willoughby and John Henry Holloway. The City of Center has one council race contested, District 2 as incumbent Jerry Lathan is challenged by Jud Matthews.


In San Augustine County, early voting continues for 273rd District Judge, county judge as incumbent Democrat Samye Johnson is challenged by former judge and Republican Randy Williams, four San Augustine ISD Trustees, and five City of San Augustine Alderman spots. Residents of San Augustine County can vote for any of the elections early today at Election Administrator Deborah Wood's office from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. and at the Broaddus Community Center from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.


For a list of voting locations in Shelby and San Augustine Counties for Tuesday's election, they've been posted on the home page of the Center Broadcasting Company website,


Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday. Center Broadcasting and the Texas State Network will combined to bring you post-election coverage.