banner banner
Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Community News



Sheriff Jayson Richardson would like to announce that the following DeSoto Parish students have been named recipients of an academic scholarship from the Louisiana Sheriff's Scholarship Program for the 2017-2018 school year.
Bonnie Woods of Logansport High School
Jarmoyhl Ragsdale of Mansfield High School
Christian Tyler Evans of North DeSoto High School
The Sheriff's Scholarship is made possible by the Louisiana Sheriff's Honorary Membership Program (LSHMP.) Louisiana Sheriffs provide scholarships to graduating high school students from each parish where the Sheriff is an affiliate of the program.
Qualities such as academic achievement, leadership, and character are considered in making selections of Sheriff's scholarship recipients.  The only limitations are that applicants be permanent residents of Louisiana; scholarships be utilized in higher education within the state; and students be enrolled as full-time, undergraduate students.  Scholarships will be awarded in sixty-four parishes throughout the state.
Ticaya Davis and LaKendrick Ross, both from Mansfield High School, were named alternates so that in the event a recipient is unable to take advantage of the scholarship award, the alternate (first and/or second) can do so,” according to the Sheriff.
In closing Sheriff Richardson said, "Academic awards by the Louisiana Sheriff's Scholarship Program to Louisiana students demonstrate what the LSHMP is all about.  This is one of our finest accomplishments.  It invests in Louisiana's future and gives something back to our community.  This would not be possible without the kind and generous support of DeSoto Parish's Honorary Members.”

Hide Comments

LinkedUpRadio Envisionwise Web Services